AI headshot tools comparison: Keeper rate, refund terms and who keeps your self
You need a polished headshot tomorrow—whether it’s for a pitch deck or a last-minute LinkedIn refresh.
AI studios tout “100 professional portraits for the price of lunch,” yet most galleries reveal only a few keepers, and downloading even one image can erase your refund.
In this guide, we cut through the hype by ranking seven AI headshot generators on three deal-breakers:
- Usable keeper rate
- Selfie and model retention
- Real-world refund terms
How we compared the seven contenders

We scored each platform on four headline factors you can verify in two minutes: price, speed, refund fairness, and how long your selfies stay on the server.
Keeper test. A keeper is any photo you would publish on LinkedIn or your company site without retouching your face. Gallery size doesn’t matter; only usable shots do.
Evidence filter. Because no vendor publishes an audited keeper rate, we treated star ratings and “99 percent satisfaction” banners as marketing, not measurement. When a landing page and legal terms disagreed, we defaulted to the stricter policy.
Data points. The table below lists the numbers that shape cost and risk at a glance.
| Tool | Starting price | Outputs | Turn-around | Keeper evidence | Refund window* | Selfie deletion* | Best for |
| Magic Studio | $59 | 50 | 15–60 min | Customer rating only | Pay after preview; 3 days if under 4 usable, no downloads | 30 days | Pay-after-preview |
| HeadshotPro | $29 | 30 | ≈2 h | None published | 14 days, no downloads | 30 days | Clearest refund |
| Aragon | $35 (promo) | 40 | ≈45 min | Satisfaction claim | 14 days, no downloads | 30 days‡ | Privacy + editing |
| BetterPic | $35 | 20 | ≈2 h | None | 7 days (terms apply) | Not published | 4 K + human edit |
| Dreamwave | $35 | 40 | N/A | None | No refund after start | Delete on request | Inclusion focus |
| Secta Labs | $49† | 100+ | ≈2 h | None | 30 days | Not published | Style remix |
| The Multiverse AI | $29.99 | 100+ | Hours | None | 7 days | 90 days | Budget batch |
*Refund clocks start when the gallery is delivered unless noted.
†Conflicting sources—verify at checkout.
‡Team subscriptions can extend retention.
Use the matrix as a quick filter before diving into each tool’s deeper pros, cons, and policy gaps.
Magic Studio: preview before you pay
Magic Studio’s Starter pack, listed on https://magicstudio.com/headshots/, gives you 50 headshots in five looks for $59, and you pay only after you love your headshots. The company advertises 15-minute delivery; its FAQ notes the Starter pack usually takes about an hour, with Basic and Premium faster. All three are one-time packs, with no subscription.
How the preview works. You upload about 10 photos with different backgrounds, face angles, and lighting. The preview of your first 50 photos is watermarked, so you can judge likeness and quality before you spend anything. If you dislike the gallery, simply close the tab and keep your money.
Refund gate. If you pay and get fewer than four decent headshots, you can ask for a refund within three days, as long as you have not downloaded any images.
Data. Your photos train a private model for your shoot only and are not used for any other training. Data is deleted automatically 30 days after your headshots are created, and you can delete it yourself at any time.
Magic Studio fits buyers who want proof of quality before paying. If you might need the refund, decide within three days and do not download first.
HeadshotPro: straight-talk refund
HeadshotPro states its rule in bold beside the purchase button: download nothing, decide within 14 days, and you receive a refund. The countdown starts the moment you pay.

Why it matters
- You can browse the full gallery online before losing refund rights.
- One click to download ends the guarantee—no screenshots, no partial credits.
The company also levels with users: its FAQ warns that most generated photos do not clear the keeper bar. With a starter price of $29 for 30 images, that honesty helps you budget on a cost-per-keeper basis.
Privacy and security
- Selfies are never used to train a general model.
- Originals auto-delete after 30 days.
- Infrastructure is SOC 2 Type II audited, reassuring teams that handle regulated data.
Watch-outs
- 4K resolution sits behind the $59 tier.
- A new one-to-three-selfie pipeline is rolling out, so real-world turnaround times vary in community reviews.
If you and your team want a self-service refund you can understand in seconds, HeadshotPro remains the lowest-risk starting point.
Aragon: privacy depth plus built-in editor
Aragon’s current promo starts at $35 for 40 images and offers a fastest tier with roughly 15-minute delivery, yet the real standout is policy detail, not speed.
Granular retention. The privacy page spells out each layer: selfies, generated files, and the private model. Selfies auto-delete 30 days after delivery (longer for subscribers), and providers cannot fold your face into a general model. Admins may shorten or extend that clock inside the dashboard.
Editing in place. After the gallery renders, you can adjust background, hair, wardrobe, or expression without generating a new batch; every edit inherits the same deletion timeline.
Security and refund. Infrastructure is SOC 2 Type II audited, and a 14-day refund applies if no images have been downloaded.
Watch-outs
- Promo pricing shifts often.
- Limited ad-tracking cookies remain even though face data is off-limits.
Pick Aragon when you want retention controls and an in-house editor, not just a quick gallery.
BetterPic: 4K frames plus a human safety net
Want print-ready sharpness? BetterPic is the only mainstream generator that ships every plan in native 4K. The entry package gives you 20 images for $35, and tiers rise to 120 shots with about a one-hour turnaround.
Human backup. Each order comes with one free manual retouch and a redo if likeness misses the mark. BetterPic provides a 7-day refund window, yet support docs note that full refunds apply only before model training starts. After processing begins, the company keeps a 10 percent non-refundable fee, and downloading any generated image voids the refund.
Policy gaps. The site shares no fixed timeline for deleting selfies or private models, and its GDPR note lists no hard numbers. Ask for written confirmation if data retention is critical.
Choose BetterPic when uncompromising resolution and included human edits outweigh a murkier data policy and a stricter refund path.
Dreamwave: inclusion first, refunds never
Dreamwave’s landing page spotlights hijabs, silver hair, and a broad range of skin tones. You can upload one clear selfie (five to eight recommended) and receive 40 images for $35 on the Starter plan in roughly two hours, according to the site.

Refund reality. Each shoot triggers a custom model run, so no money-back option exists once rendering starts. Support may offer a redo if likeness falters, but the charge stands.
Privacy note. Dreamwave states it never trains a general model on customer data and lets you delete your gallery, model, or account at any time. The site shares no automatic purge schedule; request a written timeline if compliance matters.
Pick Dreamwave when visible inclusion tops your list and you are comfortable accepting the full financial risk of a one-way purchase.
Secta Labs: remix freedom, unclear rules
Secta Labs offers 100-plus HD portraits in seven curated styles and a remix tool that lets you adjust background, lighting, or mood without training a new model. If you recycle headshots across decks and press kits, that flexibility is a win.
Speed is competitive too, with galleries arriving in about two hours. The advertised $49 flat price keeps the math simple, although some older round-ups still mention a 300-image tier that no longer appears on Secta’s site, so confirm at checkout.
Policy blind spots. Secta publishes a 30-day money-back guarantee yet provides no automatic selfie-deletion timeline and no statement on whether personal models feed a wider training corpus. Treat the platform as a creative sandbox, not a compliance-ready pipeline, until those blanks are filled.
Choose Secta Labs when creative freedom outweighs airtight paperwork, and capture screenshots of the live terms before you pay.
The Multiverse AI: budget batch, plain-language privacy
The Multiverse AI delivers 100-plus images for $29.99, usually within a few hours, so each usable shot can cost less than 30 cents—the lowest rate in this roundup.
Plain-spoken policies. The privacy page lists every subcontractor that touches your data, confirms selfies train only a private model, and schedules an automatic wipe about 90 days after your last purchase. You may request earlier deletion, although model erasure can take up to four weeks.
Gaps to note. The site advertises a 7-day refund or redo window, but editing tools are sparse compared with Aragon or BetterPic, and 90-day retention can worry teams with tighter rules.
Pick Multiverse when you want a large library of portraits on a tight budget and value straight-talk privacy language, as long as you accept the longer data-retention clock and limited editing features.
Keeper rate: the metric everyone skips
Gallery size (50, 100, even 300 images) looks impressive until you realise you might publish only a handful.
Remember the definition: a keeper is any photo you would post on LinkedIn or your company site without retouching your face. Nothing else counts.
Because no vendor shares an audited keeper rate, you must measure value yourself:
Cost per keeper = package price ÷ number of images you truly keep

Example: pay $59 and keep four shots, and each usable portrait costs roughly $14.75. A $29 plan with two keepers still lands at $14.50 each. Headline price alone means little.
HeadshotPro itself says most generated photos aren’t keepers. Until vendors publish real keeper numbers, count your own keepers before you decide whether to ask for a refund, and time your refund requests accordingly.
Refund rules: the clock, the click, the catch
Refund fine print decides whether a $30 experiment stays affordable. One early download or a missed deadline can lock your money away.

| Tool | Decision window | Clock starts | Download allowed? | Try redo first? |
| Magic Studio | 3 days (under 4 usable) | Purchase | No | N/A |
| HeadshotPro | 14 days | Purchase | No | Optional |
| Aragon | 14 days | Purchase | No | Optional |
| BetterPic | 7 days | Purchase | No | No (10 percent fee applies) |
| Dreamwave | None | Upload completion | N/A | N/A |
| Secta Labs | 30 days | Purchase | Not specified | No |
| The Multiverse AI | 7 days | Purchase | Not specified | Optional |
Takeaways:
- Screenshot the policy before you upload.
- Skip downloads until you know you will keep the order.
- Add the refund deadline to your calendar as soon as the gallery arrives.
Ten seconds of admin can save hours of support email later.
Who keeps your selfies? Four layers to check
“Privacy” can refer to four separate assets, each with its own timer:

- Raw selfies you upload
- Private model fine-tuned on those selfies
- Generated gallery you download
- Back-office backups and logs the company stores
Current public claims
- Magic Studio: deletes data automatically 30 days after your headshots are created; delete any time.
- Aragon: 30 days by default; admins can shorten or extend the period.
- HeadshotPro: 30-day selfie deletion; no general model training.
- The Multiverse: automatic wipe about 90 days after your last purchase; early deletion available.
- BetterPic, Dreamwave, Secta Labs: no dated retention published.
When terms are silent, assume selfies linger 90 days or more, especially if you buy ongoing edits.
Action: Ask each provider—in writing—when it deletes 1) selfies, 2) the private model, 3) your gallery, and 4) backups. Keep that reply with your receipt; if support hesitates, choose another service.
Bias, authenticity, and your brand
AI headshots often smooth skin, enlarge eyes, and perfect symmetry. The result can impress online yet feel jarring in person.
Likeness check. Compare each image to your real face:
- Skin tone, freckles, birthmarks, and smile lines
- Position of glasses, hijab, or other accessories
- Hair texture—tight curls stay curls unless you asked for a change
Authenticity balance. Over-polished AI portraits can lack the personality a real photographer captures, and may leave clients surprised when they meet you. Choose shots that feel aspirational yet still recognisable.
Fairness gap. Few tools say how well their training data is balanced for skin tone, age, or facial structure. Until audited studies emerge, expect some bias, and run a quick peer review with a few trusted colleagues before you publish.
Your headshot signals reliability and approachability. Pick the frame that tells that story without rewriting who you are.
Personal vs. company headshots: different stakes, different rules
Solo purchase. When you buy for yourself, prioritise price, keeper rate, and LinkedIn-ready speed. A pay-after-preview flow in Magic Studio often feels safe.
Team purchase. Inside a company, the checklist multiplies:
- HR requires documented employee consent.
- Legal requires a data-processing agreement.
- IT requires SSO and admin controls.
- Brand teams insist on uniform backgrounds.
A three-day refund matters less than confirming you can erase an ex-employee’s model on their exit date.
Who offers enterprise controls?
- Aragon and HeadshotPro publish SOC 2 Type II reports, admin dashboards, and retention toggles.
- Magic Studio’s Teams option lets admins invite members by email or create headshots on their behalf, set backdrops and outfits once for one consistent look, and delete photos, headshots, or a member’s whole profile at any time. Each personal AI model is deleted automatically after 90 days, and photos are never used to train general AI models or shared or sold.
- The Multiverse, BetterPic, and Secta sell team bundles but still treat each user as the primary data owner, which may deter risk-averse CIOs.
Bottom line: personal speed is not corporate safety. If you are buying for a team, start with the privacy and security documents, then collect written consent from every employee before uploading their faces.
Choose in five minutes: rapid-fire checklist
We suggest running through these ten questions before you pay. If a vendor misses even two, open the next tab.

Does the refund clock start at purchase or at gallery delivery, and how many days do you get?- Will downloading one image void that refund?
- When are your selfies and the private model automatically deleted?
- Is your face excluded from any general-purpose AI training?
- Are all processors and storage partners named, or grouped under “service providers”?
- Do you receive full commercial rights to every output?
- Can you preview the gallery before paying, or at least browse it before downloading?
- Does the site show sample results that match your skin tone, hair texture, and accessories?
- Is human retouching included, optional, or missing?
- What is your likely cost per keeper, not per generated image?
Answer yes to at least eight, and you have a green light. Fewer than eight is a warning sign; consider another option if your time or budget is tight.
Conclusion
Gallery size sells AI headshots, but keepers, refund terms and data retention decide whether one is worth the money. Prefer a tool that lets you see results before you pay, read the refund conditions before you download anything, and get the deletion timeline in writing. Then judge the cost per keeper, not the cost per image.



